It’s just the beginning

I did it! I finished the video! After all the phone calls and scheduling and finding a car to borrow and driving and shooting and interviewing and skipping class and checking out equipment and losing my headphones and freaking out about the annoying white noise and figuring out how to get rid of the white noise and clipping and editing and editing and EDITING and meanwhile studying for a midterm and finishing a photography assignment … I’M DONE! And I think it looks pretty good.

Sure, there’s some problems, but I can’t expect my first one to be perfect. I wish I had more ambient sound, more b-roll.  The interviews turned out well, though. I made sure to create different settings for the interviews and add a variety of shots throughout the video.  The kids did great.  They were well spoken and enthusiastic.

It’s exhausting, but that feeling of putting hours of work into a viewable 2 minute video is amazing.  I feel like a real journalist.  I documented something.  And I can’t wait to make another one!  Let me know what you think!

Leave a Reply

