Seven Quick Tips for Video

I was watching this video journalism tutorial by Lynda.com called “Basic video shooting tips,” for a little refresher before my next multimedia assignment (stay-tuned!)

Of course, the advice in this video significantly conflicts with two main points I’ve learned at the Missouri School of Journalism:

  • ALWAYS USE A TRIPOD
  • NEVER ZOOM OR PAN

I understand why we are given these strict guidelines when we first pick up a camera, however, I like the look of zooms and pans and a slightly shaky camera. I think once you get the hang of the camera, it’s fun experiment with these styles of shooting to better tell your story. Anyways, I decided to create my own little video with 7 quick tips for making a video. (Thank you to my lovely roommate Nicole Neidenberg for acting and please excuse the corny background music provided for free by Apple).

Leave a Reply

