My Quest for Creativity

Class Reflection

Today is my last first day of school. Ever. (No graduate school for me!)

I just had one class this afternoon; it’s called Creativity. I already have a feeling that this is going to be the best class I have ever taken (and I’ve taken a lot of classes over the past, what, like 16 years…!!) I will be using this blog to record my triweekly journal entries, so if you follow my blog, you can look forward to that! I need to document my reflections from reading assignments, class sessions and then any creative ideas I have along the way.

My teacher, Suzanne Burgoyne, started class today with this TED talk by Sir. Ken Robinson, titled “How Schools Kills Creativity.” You should watch it — this video applies to anyone who has ever learned something.

Overall, here are a few ideas I took away from today:

  • To allow for creative thoughts, one must be open minded.
  • We cannot allow someone to stifle our creativity by saying we’re doing it wrong.
  • Although our public schools encourage a system of sterilized standardization, we should really be embracing our differences and spending more time encouraging creative behavior in students.
  • What we may consider a disorder, like ADHD, could very possibly be the behavior of brilliant minds or artistic geniuses. But if we suppress it with medication, we’ll never find out.
  • I am a visual and auditory learner. It is easy for me to recall memories of how things look and sound, but nearly impossible to recall a smell. However, if I smell something familiar, I can often connect it to another moment in the past when I smelled it.
  • Just because you have an idea does not mean it must be put into action. Wisdom is deciding which of these ideas to pursue.
  • If we are so concerned with perfection and avoiding mistakes, we may never realize our full creative potential.

In light of the last point, I’ve recently been challenging myself to experiment with a more artistic approach to photography. In the journalism school, we are taught a pretty standard method for capturing our observations with a camera. Editing and digital image manipulation is limited for obvious reasons. So, I’ve turned my Instagram account into my creative lab where I can try out new filters and editing techniques. Here are a few of my recent favorite images:

Image

Image

Image

ImageCreative Idea

Robinson’s talk gave me an idea. If I had the power to reform our public education system, I would like to implement a new sort of grading scale. Students would be evaluated on two scales: creativity and logic. Creativity points would be awarded in subjects such as music, communication, art, theatre, fashion design, dance, and any other class that challenges you to create something. Logic points would be based on our current system of standardized testing; how well does the student remember and understand historical events, can they solve mathematical equations, read graphs, use correct grammar, etc. Teachers need to realize that creativity is a fundamental part of logical thinking. The best scientists are the inventors — the creators who think outside the box. Facebook, google glasses, film, advertising campaigns, the toaster — these were all thought up by creative minds. I think if students were graded on their ability to think creatively, we could actually CHANGE THE WORLD.

 

If you liked this post, check out my other posts about creativity here: https://nicolelunger.wordpress.com/category/creativity-2/

2 thoughts on “My Quest for Creativity

  1. Hi Nicole,
    V here. I loved reading this entry. Thanks so much for engaging with the course material on a deep and personal level. It is rewarding to know that you are seeing the benefits of studying creativity and are already implementing it into your life.
    I was very intrigued by your revised school system. I do have a question, though: are creativity and logic mutually exclusive? Is it not possible to assess something in the arts, for instance, on the basis of both its creativity and logic? For instance, dancers do have to execute certain techniques, piano concertos do require the pianist to play correct rhythms, etc. I could not agree with you more that revision is necessary, so let’s continue to grapple with these ideas!

  2. Pingback: Creativity Class: Week 3 | Nicole Lunger

Leave a Reply

