Creativity Class: Week 7

Reading Response

I really liked the How to Think Like Leonardo da Vinci excerpt. I always thought that I was more right-brained than left brained, but after reading the words of Professor Sperry, “Our education system, as well as science in general, tends to neglect the non-verbal form of intellect. What is comes down to is that modern society discriminates against the right hemisphere,” I thought I’d test myself.

So, I searched right brain exercises and found an article on Oprah.com. According to O, these two quick activities are a great way to tap into the right side of your brain:

1. Sign your name every which way. This was a lot harder than I thought.

photo 1

That was easy. Okay, now sign upside down.photo 2

How did I do? I’d say it looks very similar to my 6-year-old signature. I wasn’t even going to try cursive …photo 2.2

Mirror writing: (and again for practice)photo 3

How did I do? …well, all of the letters are facing the correct way!photo 3.22. Have a bilateral conversation.

photo 4This one was really cool. According to the article, the right side of the brain, which controls the left hang, will say thing you don’t know that you know. It specializes in assessing your physical and mental feelings, and it often offers solutions. You’ll find there’s a little Zen master in that left hand of yours

I found another exercise for the right brain on learn-to-draw-right.com. This one, as implied by the website’s name, involves drawing.

Given the left side of this shape, I had to draw on the opposite side of the existing line and complete the image symmetrically. Once finished, the instructions tell you to ask yourself the following:

photo-39

What did you notice? At any point did you:

…feel frozen or paralysed? Yes!

…feel confused? Not really. I understood the instructions.

…notice a struggle going on in your mind? Definitely.

Did you notice that after experiencing the ‘mental crunch’ something changed? I’m honest not sure …

If you noticed yourself doing any of the following then that is an indication that you moved into R-Mode (right brain mode)

…trying to draw the vase instead of the face or vice versa ie. tried to see the image a different way so you could continue Yes. I found this easier when drawing the opposite side starting from the bottom-up, for some reason …

…lining up and comparing relationships with the other side of the drawing Yes.

…that you couldn’t hear or notice what was going on around you Yes, and I didn’t realize this until it was pointed out here. Interesting.

…that time went very quickly Yes!

Class reflection

After our active listening activity on Thursday, I realized this is something I need to work on. In fact, when I intentionally tried to practice this while Skyping my boyfriend last night, I caught myself going to check my email as soon as I saw a new message in my inbox… in the middle of him talking!! I find it so easy to get distracted! Not bored, though; I want to clarify that.

This is a screenshot from our Skype conversation ... when I went to check my email as he was talking.

This is a screenshot from our Skype conversation that I recorded … when I went to check my email as he was talking.

We were debating the benefits and downsides of kids playing video games. My parents were very strict with screen time when I was growing up, and Alex’s experience has been, well … the opposite. So, I challenged him to take the side against video games, while I argued in support of video games. We actually had a really good conversation without it turning into an argument. We discovered that we actually agree on a lot more than we realized.

I recorded the Skype session to demonstrate our attempted ‘active listening’ conversation, however the file was too large to upload on YouTube. In general, I think we both listen to each other really well, which I believe is an important aspect of maintaining a relationship. Active listening shows respect and care for the other person, and it’s something I will always try to improve upon.

idea-boxCreative idea

I interviewed this artist named Taylor Ross who designed a musical wooden fox for the True/False Film Festival last weekend. She talked about how the inspiration for this piece came from some wild animals she encountered in the dessert, and she wanted to portray the fox’s playful personality through music. This made me think about how amazing it is when artists can translate emotions into music, so that others may experience what they felt. This is why I love the language of music. It provides humans with a way of understanding each other in a way that other types of communication cannot convey.

Taylor Ross

Taylor Ross

If you liked this post, check out my other posts about creativity here: https://nicolelunger.wordpress.com/category/creativity-2/

One thought on “Creativity Class: Week 7

  1. Hi Nicole,
    I appreciate the ways in which you go the proverbial extra mile in your reflections about class activities and the course readings. It is a delight to read about (and see pictures of!) the exercises you complete on your own time.
    You are not alone in needing to be more conscious about active listening; distractions and the typically false idea that we can effectively multi-task are things that, I believe, plague all of us. I’m glad you are working to hone this skill. It is certainly advantageous!

Leave a Reply

