Creativity Class: Week 8

Class reflection

Sitting outside for class on Tuesday was really refreshing. During our group discussion about what gifts we can bring to our project, we found that many of us feel inspired by nature.

We feel more creative and relaxed beneath the sun, sitting in the grass, walking in the woods, or listening to water. After a long winter, I am really excited to spend more time outside in the warmer weather. So, as a class reflection, I took a slow walk around campus on Tuesday, enjoying the warm air, and the beautiful campus. Here are some photos from my walk. I took these right before the storm started, when the sky looked particularly dramatic:

Screenshot 2014-03-12 21.52.30 Screenshot 2014-03-12 21.52.43

Reading response

Reading Piirto’s chapter on creative writers, I realized that I know a lot of people who fit into this category. Perhaps it’s because I go to the Missouri School of Journalism … yea, that’s probably the reason. But the personality traits Piirto uses to describe a creative writer seemed like they could fit just about anybody. I created this image using Wordle and shared it on Facebook.

Screenshot 2014-03-13 11.08.51

I’m curious to see what other people think about these words to describe a creative writer, and if they feel it characterizes them.

creative idea

idea-box

As we have talked about in class, I think it’s important that we are in tune with our creative process. Lately, I’ve been trying to pay attention to what time of the day I am most productive as well as most creative. I’m learning that I am most focused in the morning, so I try to knock out my emails, class projects and studying before noon. I am most active during the afternoon, which tends to lend itself to a lot of creative energy, as long as I am not sitting still. So it’s perfect that our class falls right around this time. My mind is wide-awake, it’s been warming up for hours and it’s ready to go. In the evening … well, I’m still trying to figure this one out. I haven’t noticed a consistent pattern of thinking or behavior as the day starts to wind down. I think I get more distracted after 5 p.m., as I’m ready to relax. But I want to start paying attention to what my creative process looks like when the sun starts to set.

If you liked this post, check out my other posts about creativity here: https://nicolelunger.wordpress.com/category/creativity-2/
4 thoughts on “Creativity Class: Week 8

  1. I’d say the Wordle image you created fits me perfectly. Although, if I’m an activist of any sort, I’m a very quiet one. But there are issues I fixate on in my writing — things I’m passionate about. I’d argue, however, that there are plenty of extroverted creative writers, etc, etc. We’re a mixed bunch.

    Beautiful photos, by the way! It’s always a pleasure connecting with creative people.

    • Michelle, thank you for taking the time to comment! I definitely know a few extroverted writers who are very creative as well. There was another word used in the book I’m reading to describe creative writers — androgynous. I wasn’t sure I completely agreed with that one, though, so I didn’t include it. What do you think?

      • Androgynous. Hmm. That’s an interesting word choice. I’m not sure I agree with it either, but I think that it’s (like most things) largely subjective. Does the book suggest this because creative writers write from the perspectives of both men and women? In that sense, I could see how they might be more androgynous individuals, simply because they have to consider the world from the ‘other side’.

  2. I love the photos! Probably because the sky seems so ominous, the tree branches form frightening patterns. The barrier of branches in the first photo seems poised to capture me if I try to reach the tower.

    I’m a writer too (I’ve actually published a few short stories), and I feel the words fit me. I like the design you’ve fashioned from the words.

    The project of paying attention to how your creativity flourishes (or not) at different times of day sounds worthwhile to me! I’m a night person myself, but since I rehearse in the evening, I need my creativity to be on its toes then.

Leave a Reply

